What Color is My Parachute?

As readers of this blog may know (if we have readers and if said readers know me), I am currently slaving away at a non-profit fellowship in DC biding my time until a job comes along that pays the bills. While usually I am not concerned with having my life planned out, sometimes I get swept up into the “what am I doing with my life” anxiety. Fortunately, for me I am the proud owner of a new library card and have checked out several books to help me figure this out. While at first I was skeptical about books that will supposedly tell me my true career path, I was intrigued by one book’s use of Myers-Briggs personality types.

In Do What You Are the authors use your Myers-Briggs personality type to help you understand your strengths and weaknesses. My test results concluded that I am an ENFJ or in other words I am extraverted, intuitive, feeling, and judging. I would say that overall the book’s descriptions of an ENFJ do fit me pretty accurately. ENFJs, generally, are concerned with other people and relationships, they are idealistic, and tend to make decisions based on feelings rather than facts. While ENFJs care about the feelings of others they are often hypersensitive when it comes to their own feelings and don’t take criticism very well. One weakness of this personality type is that ENFJs “tend to overlook facts that contradict what they believe.” I think everyone who knows me can agree that this sentence describes me perfectly. While this book goes on FOREVER about the implications of your personality type, I was most interested in seeing what types of jobs I would be good at. Unfortunately, they were very vague and just listed jobs in “communications” and “education/human services.” I was hoping it would give me more specifics like “FBI Agent” or “YA Author.”

I shouldn’t have expected these books to solve my problems, but I am still disappointed they didn’t. Next time I’ll just check out one of Bethenny Frankel’s books. I never found out what color my parachute was, but I’m hoping that it contains sequins.

Leave a Reply

